Menu

League Of Legends World Championship

The 2017 League of Legends World Championship, also known as Worlds, is an international Esports event where teams from around the globe gather to battle for the World Championship Trophy. Starting September 23rd, this year’s championship takes place in 4 locations across China as we pit some of the worlds’ best head-to-head.

Format

 

The tournament is comprised of 24 teams.  First, 12 teams engage in the ‘Play-In Stage’. The ‘Group Stage’ follows with 16 teams, 4 of which proceed from the ‘Play-In’ stage. Finally, the champion is decided amongst 8 teams in the ‘Knockout Stage’.

Play-In Stage (12 Teams)

Round 1:

  • #3 seed from China, North America, Europe and Taiwan/Hong Kong/Macau.
  • 1 team from Brazil, Latin America North, Latin America South, Japan, Oceania, Turkey, Southeast Asia and CIS/Russia.
  • 4 groups of 3 (randomly sorted) compete against each other.
  • Double round robin.
  • Matches are best of 1.
  • Top 2 teams of each 3 team group proceed to Round 2.

Round 2:

  • 8 Teams that proceeded from Round 1.
  • Same groups from Round 1 compete against each other (exempt eliminated team)
  • 4 Winners qualify for Group Stage.

Group Stage (16 Teams)

  • 4 Teams from Play-In Stage.
  • 3 Teams from South Korea.
  • 1 Team from the Wildcard Region with the highest rank at 2017 MSI tournament.
  • #1 and #2 seeds from China, North America, Europe, Taiwan/Hong Kong/Macau.
  • 4 Groups of 4 Teams will be decided through a live Group Draw Show that has not been announced a date as of yet. Click here for info
  • Double round robin.
  • Matches are best of 1.
  • Top 2 Teams from each group advance to the Knockout Stage.

Knockout Stage (8 Teams)

  • #1 vs. #2 teams from each group.
  • Single Elimination.
  • Matches are best of 5.

 

 

Day 1, September 23rd – Play-In Stage

13:30 HKT, 12:30 AM CST
Team WE
VS
Lyon Gaming
14:30 HKT, 1:30 AM CST
Cloud9
VS
Team One Esports
15:30 HKT, 2:30 AM CST
Gambit Esports
VS
Lyon Gaming
16:30 HKT, 3:30 AM CST
Dire Wolves
VS
Cloud9
17:30 HKT, 4:30 AM CST
Gambit Esports
VS
Team WE
18:30 HKT, 5:30 AM CST
Dire Wolves
VS
Team One Esports

Day 2, September 24th – Play-In Stage

13:00 HKT, 12:00 AM CST
Team One Esports
VS
Cloud9
14:00 HKT, 1:00 AM CST
Lyon Gaming
VS
Team WE
15:00 HKT, 2 AM CST
Cloud9
VS
Dire Wolves
16:00 HKT, 3:00 AM CST
Lyon Gaming
VS
Gambit Esports
17:00 HKT, 4:00 AM CST
Team One Esports
VS
Dire Wolves
18:00 HKT, 5:00 AM CST
Team WE
VS
Gambit Esports

Day 3, September 25th – Play-In Stage

13:00 HKT, 12:00 AM CST
Young Generation
VS
Kaos Latin Gamers
14:00 HKT, 1:00 AM CST
Rampage
VS
Hong Kong Attitude
15:00 HKT, 2:00 AM CST
Fnatic
VS
Kaos Latin Gamers
16:00 HKT, 3:00 AM CST
Hong Kong Attitude
VS
1907 Fenerbahce Espor
17:00 HKT, 4:00 AM CST
Young Generation
VS
Fnatic
18:00 HKT, 5:00 AM CST
Rampage
VS
1907 Fenerbahce Espor

Day 4, September 26th – Play-In Stage

13:00 HKT, 12:00 AM CST
Hong Kong Attitude
VS
Rampage
14:00 HKT, 1:00 AM CST
Kaos Latin Gamers
VS
Young Generation
15:00 HKT, 2:00 AM CST
1907 Fenerbahce Espor
VS
Rampage
16:00 HKT, 3:00 AM CST
Kaos Latin Gamers
VS
Fnatic
17:00 HKT, 4:00 AM CST
1907 Fenerbahce Espor
VS
Hong Kong Attitude
18:00 HKT, 5:00 AM CST
Fnatic
VS
Young Generation

 

 

Arabic AR Chinese (Simplified) ZH-CN Dutch NL English EN French FR German DE Italian IT Portuguese PT Russian RU Spanish ES

Follow us @GOODGAMEBUZZ